We All Have Successes and Failings

Dak_Dillon_Cover

Anthony Jinson took over the Columbia Business Times’ studio for the May 2013 cover shoot featuring Dak Dillon, a local web site designer, photographer, and videographer.

Everyday it seems I’m reminded of just how far I’ve come, and how far I have yet to go, concerning photojournalism. I have had excellent opportunities with my time at the Business Times and Columbia Home, and plan on extending into even more Missouri communities with my upcoming stint at Missouri Life magazine. But meeting someone like Dak Dillon, who is on the cover of the May 2013 issue of Columbia Business Times, is incredibly intimidating. He’s only a couple years older than me and already has a resume that I wish was exaggerated. I would kill to be the lead photographer for Mizzou athletics. When asking how far my commitment stretches, ask not what I would do for a Klondike bar, but instead ask what I would do for this man’s career. He’s two years older than me and is on the cover of the magazine where I work for free. But hell, he deserves it. I certainly didn’t start designing websites at the tender age of seven. I didn’t even know what a computer was until I reached fifth grade.

But when I start to feel myself shrinking into others’ shadows, I just think to myself that everyone has their path in life for a reason. My life doesn’t have to be compared to others’, it only matters that I’m doing my best and enjoying it along the way. So while I crouched at the back of the CBT’s photo studio, watching a young adult make the cover of the magazine, I screwed my favorite fisheye lens onto my Rebel T1i, focused, and exhaled as the shutter snapped shut. That was my moment, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

