There is Such a Thing as a Rain Room

http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign/audioslideshow/2013/feb/26/barbican-rain-room-audio-slideshow

 

I was initially drawn to this audio slideshow because of its content, “What the eff is a rain room?” I said to myself. So I clicked to find out. Before the slideshow had completed loading, I thought, “I know the only natural/ambient sound they’re going to have is rain,” and I was totally cool with that, because the sound of rain relaxes me. My prediction proved correct, just a steady rain throughout the entire thing, it was majestic, just like the men in the slideshow are describing. Their voices are also quite clear, distinguishable against the steady moisture, and there’s no obvious cuts in the audio to distract from the peaceful, consistent feeling you get from the ambient sound. All in all, a very well done audio slideshow I would say.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

