So Long! Farewell! Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye!

Adieu, adieu, to you and you and you! Okay, I’m done singing…for now. Yes, another semester has come to a close, the final projects are in and the final study sessions crammed with snacks, late night slap-happies and notes upon notes have commenced. As with all journalism classes, there is no final test, just a project that makes us apply what we learned to a real story. There’s a practicality in it, considering this is probably what we’ll be doing in our future professions (unless if you’re strategic communication and don’t plan on reporting at all). Plus, it makes the classes a lot more interesting. I would much rather be out in the field collecting audio and taking photos than studying a textbook about the ethics of journalism. (Does it make me a bad person to say that?) The hands on aspect of this course (J2150) really appealed to me. I also got to choose the stories I did, for the most part, and got to choose them based on their visual appeal as well as their story worthiness. As excited as I am to end the semester and have a carefree, sunny summer, I will miss this class.

Now for those of you that think I’m just typing these praises because I’m trying to get a better grade, you are sadly mistaken. If I don’t think something is right, I have the stubborn ability to dig my heels in and shout, “B.S.!” Just ask my parents, I’m far too opinionated for the general public to think that I’d suck up to anyone, just because they’re in a position of power. But moving on from my character analysis, I actually enjoyed this class. Being a visual person who wants to go into photojournalism, this class was a godsend after J2100, which focused entirely on writing without opinion and going to meetings about things that I honestly didn’t care much for. They certainly weren’t aesthetically pleasing stories where it would take a major natural disaster to pry me away from taking more photos. But in this class, visual appeal was key. It was all about how certain angles and framing works better for some situations rather than others, how lighting could make or break a shot, and what kind of mood different visuals with audio would create. That is right up my alley.

I’ve stated in a previous post that I wanted to have a job where I could take photos, video, audio, and just post it on my blog with my own opinion or viewpoint involved. This obviously works well with my desire to ramble about my take on the world without anyone telling me I’m being too personal. I like to be personal, I like that people can get a feel for who I am and comment on what I’ve done either with contradictions, alterations, or agreements. I’m a big fan of discussion about the world and its issues, and I think there needs to be more of it. If I were to have a job where I could foster debate, state my opinion (politely) and take all kinds of photos/videos/audio (and on top of all that travel!), I would be incredibly satisfied.

I wouldn’t know how to create and edit videos/audio without the help of this class, so I’m incredibly thankful that this class has helped me with what could be my potential career. That’s what I love most about my major, I learn all of the things I could ever need to know about my future job before I graduate. This practical knowledge will stay with me forever. And even though they taught  a certain way of doing things, I still have room to be innovative. It’s a great relationship, and I’m sad to see it end.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

